Gov. Imee Marcos inspired by latest Senatorial survey

National News

Ilocos Norte Governor Imee Marcos has expressed gratitude for the support that gave her a slot in Pulse Asia’s Ulat ng Bayan survey on the 2019 senatorial elections released recently.

Women dominated the top 5 of the Pulse Asia survey conducted from September 1 to 7 that sampled 1,800 registered voters 18 years old and above.

Gov. Imee is “thankful to the respondents interviewed in the research whose trust and confidence land her in the 7th to 11th place”, indicative of her good chance at winning if the elections were held during the survey period.

She believes that her solid experience and extensive background as three-term congresswoman and three-term governor, respectively, of Ilocos Norte will work to her advantage to be of further help and service to the nation.

Marcos said this survey result inspires her to work doubly hard for nation building and in looking for solutions to end poverty and address high prices, lack of economic opportunity, crimes, and women empowerment.

Gov. Marcos said she’s thankful for the support considering that this came even as she has yet to formally announce she’ll run for senator in next year’s polls.

She vows to support measures that could end persistent problems plaguing the country like poverty and inequality whether she runs as senator or not, stressing that a public servant must demonstrate the highest degree of love for country and the willingness to serve at all times.

Pulse Asia said the survey shows that 49% of Filipinos already have 12 preferred senatorial candidates for the May 2019 elections and that the 17 from the 66 individuals included in their September 2018 research would have a statistical chance at winning.

Heading the list was Sen. Grace Poe, followed by Sen. Nancy Villar, Taguig City Representative Pia Cayetano, Sen. Nancy Binay, Davao City Mayor Sara Duterte Carpio, Sen. Juan Edgardo Angara, former Sen. Jingoy Estrada, Ilocos Norte Gov. Imee Marcos, Sen. Aquilino Martin Pimentel III, former Sen. Lito Lapid, former Sen. Sergio Osmena, and former interior and local government secretary Manuel Roxas. ZALDY COMANDA / ABN